Information Flux in the 21st Century

Social Networks

I recently put a picture of my first grade class on my Facebook page, specifically for my old friends from that class to see. I’m still getting used to the fact that my classmates from those days so long ago and I are again in touch. And, we are communicating in the same space that I do with friends from all different phases of my life. I remember the day when it was natural to compartmentalize my friendships. Am I too steeped in organization and categorization to embrace social networks for what they are? What does knowledge organization in this context mean? Oh sure, I can do the research. But, my friends, what do you think? I want to hear from you.

June 24, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

3 Comments »

  1. Dear Iris,

    I do think that the whole facebook thing is sort of nice..
    it is also kind of useless…i wonder do people you havent spoke to in years, really care how you are doing? Then i wonder isnt quite nice to see how fellow friends and even family members are doing.. my kids got a kick out of seeing the first grade photo..did they think i was never young?
    anyhow…that is my opinion on the fb stuff..nice yes..but truly kinda useless..

    Comment by Lorraine | June 24, 2009 | Reply

  2. I think Social networking has risen to many different levels over the past few years. Its used to solve problems to familiarize yourself with peoples lives that you otherwise couldnt intervene in the past. Its a Metaphor that has grown to unbelievable status. I love it for just finding friends who i lost contact with and never would have found again. It interwoves us to becoming what we are people growing up and changing our lives forever.

    Comment by Jeff Zimmerman | June 25, 2009 | Reply

  3. Social networks like Facebook has definitely helped in reconnecting with friends that I’ve lost touch with as well as people I’ve met in the past. It has also become a way to connect with colleagues in the profession. I’m not sure how I feel about the mixing of friends, colleagues, and acquaintances. I know that some people create two profiles: one for family & friends and one for colleagues and acquaintances. Facebook definitely helps with keeping in touch and also with matching faces with names but it doesn’t replace the in-person get-togethers; it’s useful for coordinating them.

    Comment by Lisa | June 30, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

