Information Flux in the 21st Century

140 Character Revolution

Picture 1
I have a confession. I do not have a Twitter account. So far, it has been easy enough to follow others’ noteworthy tweets without an account. And, I haven’t felt compelled to write my own tweets for interested, or uninterested followers. Although I have seen the value for certain uses, I remain somewhat of a Twitter cynic.

Apparently, I am missing out on something so revolutionary, a whole world is forming around the 140 character microblog. Organizations are available to educate on how to adapt to 140 character communication. There’s a 140 character conference. Statisticians are monitoring the flow of these short messages in order to read public opinion and sentiment in real time. The UK’s Royal Opera House is creating a Twitter Opera. Of course, Twitter is a must have for marketing purposes. The list goes on…

Does this mean that as a society we are destined for an ever decreasing collective attention span? Do we have to look forward to movies that will be the equivalent in length to a commercial? A 140 character literary genre? As funny these seem (at least to me), they are a reality already. Clearly, the 140 character world is here, big time. But, let’s not forget; less is more may apply to design, but not everything else.

Okay, so now I am feeling social media pressure to succumb. Before too long, I will finally become a late adopter of Twitter. So, how about you, Maureen Dowd? It wasn’t long ago that you said to Twitter co-founder, Biz Stone, “I would rather be tied up to stakes in the Kalahari Desert, have honey poured over me and red ants eat out my eyes than open a Twitter account. Is there anything you can say to change my mind?” To which Biz Stone replied, “Well, when you do find yourself in that position, you’re gonna want Twitter. You might want to type out the message “Help.””

August 15, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. Iris,

    Interesting post. I don’t have a Twitter account either, a personal one anyway. I’ve created one for SLA@Pratt.

    I was just reading an interesting article “How the brain hard-wires us to love Google, Twitter, and texting. And why that’s dangerous.” – http://www.slate.com/id/2224932

    By the way, have you seen this Twitter video – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PN2HAroA12w

    Comment by Lisa | August 19, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

